One of the most ancient streets of Riga – J??u street will amaze both the citizens of Riga and its guests with unusual charm and unique coziness. However, it was not always such a small street as it is today. Up until 1215, J??u street was a part of the stronghold that was the territory of archbishop’s courtyard. After the fire that destroyed that part of town, it was given to the Dominican order, who have later built the St. John’s Church. Back then, the J??u street was called the street of the Black Monks, because of the colour of the monks’ robes. In the 14th century it was renamed in honour of the St. John’s church and later translated as J??u street.